Facebook shuts down automatic face recognition, deletes more than a billion saved faces

Today Facebook has shocked the world by announcing that it’s shutting down its automatic face tagging system, powered by facial recognition. This is the system that figures out who is in photos based on the faces it sees.

People who have previously opted in to using this will no longer be automatically recognized in photos and videos, and Facebook will delete more than a billion people’s individual facial recognition templates.

This means people’s faces will no longer be automatically recognized in Memories, photos, or videos, and you won’t be able to turn it on again. The company…

Very interesting. Check out our latest tone…

Find Digital Rain Tone here.

Read More